Constituent Assembly building, New Baneshwor, Kathmandu. Photo: THT/FileKATHMANDU: Constituent Assembly members associated with five political parties — Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Nepal, Tarai Madhes Democratic Party, Sadbhawana Party, Tarai Madhes Sadbhawana Party-Nepal and Federal Socialist Party-Nepal walked out of the meeting on Friday after voicing their concern against the 16-point agreement.

Before walking out of the CA Hall, MJF-Nepal Chairman Upendra Yadav said on behalf of the five parties that the 16-point agreement was against Article 138 of the Interim Constitution.

He alleged that the major parties struck the deal mainly because of their lust for power. He said the new constitution would not guarantee peace and stability if it did not ensure inclusion, self rule, autonomy and rights of the farmers, poor and workers.