Govt fails to pick NRB guv

KATHMANDU: A Cabinet meeting on Thursday promoted five joint secretaries — Ananda Raj Pokhrel, Shital Babu Regmi, Bimal Wagle, Mahendra Shrestha and Madhav Ghimire — to the post of secretaries. However, the Cabinet meeting failed to pick the name for the governor of Nepal Rastra Bank. A committee under the leadership of Finance Minister Surendra Pandey had recommended National Planning Commission vice-chairman Yuba Raj Khatiwada, Finance Secretary Rameshwor Khanal and NRB deputy governor Nir Bikram Rayamajhi for the post. Minister without portfolio Laxman Lal Karna said the Cabinet has agreed to finalise the name of the governor after wide consultations among the political parties. “The prime minister will consult with ministers from different parties and come up with the name,” Karna said.