Govt spells plan to implement statute

Kathmandu, June 19

Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Agni Prasad Kharel presented the government’s work plan for implementation of the constitution at today’s meeting of the Legislature Parliament.

A Cabinet meeting had endorsed the work plan on Thursday, stating that it would hold three elections by mid-December 2017 for the first phase implementation of the constitution.

As per the schedule, the government will conduct civic, provincial and parliamentary elections, form eight constitutional commissions and appoint chiefs of each province by the end of 2017.

Nepali Congress, agitating Madhes-based parties and ruling coalition partner CPN-Maoist Centre have been expressing dissatisfaction with ruling CPN-UML for bringing the work plan without holding consultations with other key political forces.

It will form eight commissions – National Dalit Commission, National Inclusive Commission, Commission on Indigenous Nationalities, Madhesi Commission, Tharu Commission, Muslim Commission, National Natural Resources and Finance Commission and National Women Commission – by December 15, 2016.

Kharel said chiefs of provinces would be appointed before the elections for the state legislative assemblies.