Gupta quits RPP membership

Kapilvastu, February 21:

Central member of the Rastriya Prajatantra Party and former minister Brajesh Kumar Gupta, expressing solidarity with the ongoing agitation in Tarai, has resigned from the party membership.

Gupta announced this decision at a rally organised by the United Democratic Madhesi Front (UDMF) at Taulihawa bazaar today. He said that he has sent the resignation letter to the RPP central office on Monday.

On the occasion, he said that he would always fight for preserving the rights of the Madhes and Madhesis. Dan Bahadur Chaudhary, who had resigned from the CPN (UML) membership and the parliament, MJF district president Prakash Pandey, Sadbhavana Party district president Kunja Bihari Chaudhary, district president of Nepal Sadbhavana Party Raghabendra Sribastav and Dharma Bahadur Lal Sribastav of UMDF also shed light on the importance of the Madhes agitation.

Meanwhile, Nepali Congress district vice-chairman Raju Prasad Aryal said the NC Kapilvastu, issuing a release, urged the government to reach an agreement with the Madhesis.