Journalists lobby for tickets to contest civic polls

Lamjung, April 29

Six working journalists in Lamjung district have submitted applications to various political parties for tickets to contest different posts ranging from chairperson of their wards and rural municipalities to municipality mayor for the upcoming local level elections.

Former coordinator of Gandaki chapter of Nepal Press Union and Chief Editor of Lamjung Aawaz Weekly Milan Sharma Danai submitted his application to the Nepali Congress party to represent them as a candidate for the chairperson of Besisahar municipality- 8.

President of NPU, Lamjung Chapter and Lamjung correspondent of Nepal Television Parameswor Adhikari has shown interest in filing candidacy for the position of mayor of Sundarbazaar Municipality representing the Nepali Congress.

NPU member and Lamjung correspondent for Annapurna Post Deepak Adhikari has obtained the ticket to contest for the post of member of Dordi Rural Municipality-1.

Press Centre Nepal Central Member Santosh Poudel is aspiring for post of the chairperson of Dordi rural Municipality in the local level polls. Poudel is the director of Radio Bhoteodar and is also associated with Mulkhabar Online.

District Chairperson of Press Centre and manager of Radio Bhoteodar Rudra Hari Dhakal has submitted an application to CPN-MC to represent them as candidate for chairperson of ward-8 of Sundarbazaar Municipality.

Editor of Paribartan Sandesh newspaper Narayan Poudel is preparing to contest the post of mayor of Rainas municipality from Naya Shakti Party. Executive Editor of the newspaper and Lamjung chair of Press Society Basudev Thapa is also planning to contest for chairperson of Marsyangdi Rural Municipality.

Former chairperson of FNJ, Lamjung chapter, and editor of Lamjung Darpan Krishna KC is also aspiring to compete in the polls.