Khanal urges PM to win NC’s heart

Kathmandu, December 7:

CPN-UML general secretary Jhala Nath Khanal has urged Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal to immediately form the five proposed commissions and win the confidence of the Nepali Congress to form the Special Committee on the integration of the Maoist combatants.

The five commissions — Truth and Reconciliation Commission, Commission on the Cases of Disappearances, State Restructuring Commission, Land Reforms Commission and National Peace Monitoring Committee — were envisaged in the agreements reached between the then seven-party alliance partners on June 25.

Other constitutional bodies have also remained vacant due to the absence of Leader of Opposition in the parliament. NC, the main opposition party and also the member of the constitutional council, has yet to elect its leader.

“The way the government is functioning is not satisfactory,” Khanal told reporters after conferring with the PM at the latter’s residence in Baluwatar.

He said the concerned government agencies were hit due to the delay in the appointment of officials in the government establishments.

He added that the PM had assured him on giving complete shape to the army integration panel after consulting the NC. He said the Maoist combatants would be adjusted and rehabilitated as per the past agreements, since it was a present day requirement as well.

Khanal said he had also asked the PM to hold a high-level consultation between the UML and the Maoists to solve the ongoing clashes between the youth wings of both the parties. Clashes between the two youth wings across the country have strained the relations between the two ruling parties.

Khanal said none of the party leaders should shield cadres involved in criminal acts.

CPN-Maoist chief whip Dinanath Sharma said the meeting agreed to make all political and constitutional appointments, and elect chairpersons of all the constitution-making committees, by mid-December.

He said a decision on these issues would be taken in Tuesday’s meeting.

Sharma said consensus would be generated while choosing chairpersons of all the constitution-making bodies. “Voting will be held only if there is no consensus,” he said.