List of would-be envoys sent to lawmakers’ panel

Kathmandu, June 25:

The government today sent a list of 14 ambassadors-designate to the Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee.

This has paved the way for appointment of ambassadors.

The list has the following names: Pradip Khatiwada for Bangladesh; Pramesh Hamal

for Belgium (European Union); Tanka Karki for China; Sailaja Acharya for India; Ganesh Yonjon for Japan; Bal Bahadur Kunwar for Pakistan; Surya Nath Mishra for Qatar; Surya Kiran Gurung for Russia; Hamid Ansari for Saudi Arabia; Suresh Chalise for United States; Navin Prakash Jung Shah for Thailand; Murari Sharma for United Kingdom and Dinesh Bhattarai for Geneva, Switzerland.

The ambassador for Switzerland will also hold the portfolio of the permanent representative in Geneva.

The newly established embassies in Australia, Denmark and South Korea are reserved for CPN-Maoist nominees.

The previous government on December 18 last year had made the nomination.

The appointments were not made because there was onfusion on whether or not to go with the hearing procedures. The second amendment of the interim constitution stipulated provisions for parliamentary hearing.

The Committee would begin its hearing procedures on Thursday.