A look at the temporary protected status in immigration

Immigrant advocates fear President Donald Trump's administration may move to end a long-standing program that shields tens of thousands of Central American immigrants from deportation.

The US created the program known as Temporary Protected Status to assist citizens whose countries are ravaged by natural disasters and war. Ten countries are currently designated to participate: El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

Here's more information about the countries with the most citizens covered by the program:


The country was designated to participate after a 2001 earthquake. About 263,000 immigrants were enrolled as of December 2016, according to government statistics. The status is due to expire for Salvadorans on March 9.


The US tapped Honduras in 1999 after Hurricane Mitch. About 86,000 Hondurans participate in the program, which is due to expire Jan. 5. Nicaragua was designated at the same time but has fewer participants. Immigrant advocates expect an announcement shortly from the Trump administration on these two countries.


The country was designated after a 2010 earthquake and about 59,000 Haitians were covered by the program at the end of 2016. The Trump administration renewed the program for Haitians earlier this year for six months. It expires on Jan. 22.


The country was tapped for the program in 2015 following a severe earthquake. Nearly 13,000 citizens of Nepal are in the program scheduled to expire on June 24.

Source: US Citizenship and Immigration Services.