NA elections: Six elected unopposed from Province 1

BIRATNAGAR: Six candidates have been elected as unopposed members of the National Assembly from Province 1.

In this backdrop, the elections now would be held only for two seats out of the total eight.

Parshuram Meghi Gurung of Sankhuwasabha, Hari Charan Siwakoti of Jhapa from CPN-UML, and Ramesh Jung Rayamajhi of Nepali Congress from Morang were elected unopposed under the open category, the Office of the Election Officer of Province 1 said.

Likewise, Naina Kala Ojha of CPN-UML from Morang, Beena Pokharel of CPN Maoist Centre from Morang, and Sarita Prasain of Nepali Congress from Jhapa district were also elected unopposed in the women's category for the national assembly.

A total of four candidates are now vying for two seats in the elections to the national assembly from Province 1.

Khem Raj Nepali of UML and Bin Kumar Bishwakarma of NC have fielded their candidacy for the election scheduled to be held on February 7 under marginalised quota.

Likewise, Agam Prasad Bantawa Rai of UML and Mahesh Kumar Jaju are competing for a seat under the minority and physically disabled quota respectively.