NC leading in Biratnagar

Biratnagar, July 7

As vote counting is under way, the Nepali Congress has maintained its lead all along in Morang’s Biratnagar Metropolitan City.

As per the updates received till Friday evening, Nepali Congress mayoral candidate Bhim Parajuli has secured 16,525 votes, whereas his closest rival Binod Dhakal from the CPN-UML and Nepal Democratic Forum alliance is trailing with 12,377 votes.

Umesh Yadav of Federal Socialist Forum- Nepal, who is competing for the mayoral post by forging an alliance with the CPN-Maoist Centre, and Rastriya Prajatantra Party’s Prahlad Sah have received 11,573 and 3,094 votes respectively.

For the post of deputy mayor, Nepali Congress candidate Indira Karki is leading the race with 14,431 votes. Namita Neupane from the CPN-Maoist Centre and Suchi Chaudhary from NDF have garnered 8,887 and 7,667 votes respectively. RPP deputy mayoral candidate Shova Shrestha has received 2,113 votes.

The metropolis comprises 19 wards and vote counting in 12 wards have concluded. Counting is on in Ward Nos 7, 9 and 13.

Meanwhile, final election results of other 15 local levels in the district have been declared. As per the results, the NC has won seven local bodies and the UML five, while the FSF-N and the NDF have won one local level each.

The NC has claimed victory in Urlabari, Sunbarshi, Ratuwamai, Letang and Sundar Haraicha municipalities and Kerabari and Katahari rural municipalities, whereas UML has bagged victory in Belbari and Pathari Sanishchare municipalities and Kanepokhari, Gramthan and Miklajung rural municipalities.