NC likely to make nominations to fill in vacant chief berths today

KATHMANDU: Nepali Congress (NC) would pick three members to fulfil the party's vacant posts today.

Presently, the NC has three vacant posts — vice-president, general secretary and joint general secretary —  to be fulfilled.

Three members would be picked for the party's vacant berths at the Central Working Committee (CWC) meeting scheduled to be held at NC central office in Sanepa today, NC Spokesperson Bishwa Prakash Sharma told THT Online.

Sharma said that the party President Sher Bahadur Deuba would nominate three names for the vacant posts, and thereafter, the CWC meeting would appoint the nominees.

According to a source in the party, Deuba is likely to propose Bimalendra Nidhi for the post of vice-president, Purna Bahadur Khadka for general secretary and Prakash Sharan Mahat for joint general secretary.

It has been learnt that, although Deuba had decided to propose a member from party's faction led by senior leader Ramchandra Paudel, it was later altered following the inter-factional dispute and the pressure from Paudel-led faction on Deuba to undertake the responsibility for NC's debacle in the polls.

In the party's statute Article 21, there is a provision to form 85-member central committee in which the president, a general secretary and a treasurer have to be elected, thereafter; the president can nominate a vice-president, a general secretary, a joint general secretary and other members.

Paudel-led faction has affirmed the nominations for the vacant berth as per the party's statute even when the party did not fill in within two years after the general convention which should have been done within two months.

NC leader Dilendra said that the CWC meeting should also include Madhesi Janadhikar Forum- Democratic (MJF-D) leaders including Bijay Kumar Gachhadar as per the agreement inked during the democratic unification prior to the elections.

It has also been learnt that NC President Deuba has prepared to confer 'senior leader' title on MJF-D leader Gachhadar.