Nepal | July 05, 2020

Nepali Congress vote counting to conclude today

Deuba on the safe side with comfortable majority in the Central Working Committee in sight

Himalayan News Service
Share Now:
Nepali Congress vote count

Vote counting for 25 Central Working Committee members being held at the party office in Sanepa on Wednesday, March 09, 2016. Photo: RSS

Kathmandu, March 13

Vote counting of Nepali Congress’s elected positions is likely to conclude tomorrow, after seven days. Voting were held on March 6.

The party’s election committee is preparing to provide certificates of election to all elected members on Tuesday amid a function, according to secretary of the party headquarters Prakash Sharma.

As of today’s vote count reports, newly elected party president Sher Bahadur Deuba-led panel is securing a comfortable majority in the CWC.

The Deuba panel is leading in the open category of 25 Central Working Committee members and there is neck-to-neck competition in 14 quotas reserved for seven provinces between the Deuba panel and the panel led by Ramchandra Paudel.

As only around 400 votes are to be counted, today’s update has given a clear sign about who will emerge victorious. As some influential members are lagging behind in terms of the votes they garnered, it is almost certain that they will lose the polls.

Popular and influential candidates in lower positions are: Udaya Shumsher Rana, Jip Tshring Lama, Dina Maha Laxmi Upadhaya, Manmohan Bhattarai, Govinda Raj Joshi, Taranath Ranabhat, Chiranjibi Wagle, Ram Krishna Tamrakar, Pushkar Nath Ojha, Surya Man Gurung, Binay Dhoj Chand, Laxman Prasad Ghimire and Ram Hari Khatiwada.

Almost all of them belong to the Deuba camp.

As of now, 13 CWC members have already been declared elected as CWC members from the Deuba side while nine are from Paudel’s camp.

As there are only around 400 votes to be counted under the category and there is significant difference between those leading candidates and those below the 25th position, there is high chance that the leading 25 will likely be elected CWC members.

Among the 25, 14 are from Deuba’s panel and 11 belong to the Paudel panel. Vote update of leading 28 candidates under the 25-member open category, according to secretary Sharma, is as follows after 2,750 ballots were counted till today:

Shekhar Koirala, 1,615; Khum Bahadur Khadka, 1,608; Prakash Man Singh, 1,575; KB Gurung, 1,547; Pradip Paudel, 1,506; Pradip Giri, 1,502; Dhana Raj Gurung, 1,498; Bal Krishna Khand, 1,480; Ramesh Lekhak, 1,479; Purna Bahadur Khadka, 1,477; Mahesh Acharya, 1,465; Bal Bahadur KC, 1,463; Bimalendra Nidhi, 1,454; Ram Sharan Mahat, 1,425; Sujata Koirala, 1,416; Bishwa Prakash Sharma, 1,413; Shankar Bhandari, 1,354; NP Saud, 1,343; Badri Pande, 1,319; Gopal Man Shrestha, 1,308, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki, 1,300; Chandra Bhandari, 1,295; Prakash Sharan Mahat, 1,279; Narayan Khadka, 1,279; Minendra Rijal, 1261; Padam Narayan Chaudhari, 1143; Udaya Shumsher Rana, 1,133 and Jip Tshring Lama, 1,097.

Each of the seven provinces will have two seats. In each of the seven provinces top three leading candidates are as follows after 1,400 ballot papers were counted. Province 1: Guru Raj Ghimire, 603; Bhishma Raj Angdambe, 537; Amrit Aryal, 507. Province 2: Ananda Prasad Dhungana, 656; Ramesh Rijal, 634, Teju Lal Chaudhari 525. Province 3: Nabindra Raj Joshi, 573; Mohan Bahadur Basnet, 479; Ram Nath Adhikari, 406.

Province 4: Govinda Bhattarai, 594, Surendra Raj Pande, 555; Arjun Prasad Joshi, 532.

Province 5: Dipak Giri, 658; Devendra Raj Kandel, 576; Bharat Kumar Shah, 537.

Province 6: Hridaya Ram Thani, 736; Jivan Bahadur Shahi, 666; Din Bandhu Shrestha, 624. Province 7: Dilendra Prasad Badu, 715; Bir Bahadur Balayar, 623; Bahadur Singh Thapa, 457.

A version of this article appears in print on March 14, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Bajhang Landslide Update: Four bodies recovered

BAJURA: Four persons, who were missing in the landslide that occurred at 2:00 am on Saturday in Mallesi of Kedarsyun Rural Municipality in Bajhang district, have been found dead. Bodies of 40-year-old Rammati Jethara and her 12-year-old son Prayag Jethara were found buried in the debris of the la Read More...

COVID-19 Update: 232 new cases, 272 recoveries, two deaths recorded today

KATHMANDU: Nepal’s Health Ministry, in its regular press briefing, shared the latest updates on coronavirus contagion from across the country, and government’s response to the health crisis. As of today, 246,297 tests through Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) method and 310,300 Rapid Diagn Read More...

THT logo

Woman dies after returning home from quarantine in Kailali

DHANGADHI: A woman has died after a week of returning home from a quarantine facility in Kailali, on Friday. A 48-year-old woman, resident of Godavari Municipality-10, breathed her last on Friday night while in home quarantine, according to mayor of the municipality, Hari Singh Saud. It has be Read More...

Prime Minister Oli visits Prez Bhandari; motive of meet undisclosed

KATHMANDU: Prime Minister and Nepal Communist Party (NCP) co-chair KP Sharma Oli paid a visit to President Bidya Devi Bhandari at her official residence in Sheetal Niwas amid the ongoing political strain in the country, on Saturday. The meeting between the Prime Minister and the President lasted Read More...

Greenwood shines as five-star Man United crush Bournemouth

MANCHESTER: Manchester United's three-pronged attack combined to devastating effect as they crushed Bournemouth 5-2 in the Premier League on Saturday to move into the top four and stretch their unbeaten run to 16 games in all competitions. Mason Greenwood shone with two superb goals whil Read More...

Six killed, one missing in Bajhang landslide

Bajura, July 4 Six persons died in a landslide in Mallesi of Kedarsyun Rural Municipality, Bajhang, last night. One person is missing. A police team from Bisauna of Durgathali Rural Municipality and locals retrieved the bodies from the landslide debris today. According to Kedarsyun Rural Mu Read More...

NCP standoff continues

Kathmandu, July 4 The ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) postponed its Standing Committee meeting till Monday in an attempt to reconcile differences among party co-chairs Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal and senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal. The rival faction of the NCP has Read More...

Bayern thrash Leverkusen 4-2 to win 20th German Cup title

BERLIN: Bundesliga champions Bayern Munich kept their hopes of a treble alive after a dominant 4-2 win over Bayer Leverkusen to lift the German Cup for a record-extending 20th time at the Olympiastadion on Saturday. Bayern sealed their 13th domestic double as Hansi Flick, who took ove Read More...