No-trust motion tabled against Oli

Kathmandu, July 13

A day after the CPN-Maoist Centre withdrew its support to CPN-UML-led government, the main opposition Nepali Congress party, CPN-MC and CPN (United) today registered a vote of no-confidence motion against Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli at the Legislature-Parliament.

The motion was tabled in accordance with Article 298 (13) of the constitution and Rule 160 of Legislature-Parliament Rules.

The PM informed Speaker Onsari Gharti Magar through CPN-UML Chief Whip Bhanu Bhakta Dhakal that he would not tender his resignation but would face vote of no-confidence.

The motion signed by CPN-MC Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, on behalf of 284 MPs, stated that they registered the motion after Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli did not clear the way to form the new government even after the Oli-led government was turned into a minority one.

After registering the motion, NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba said he had an offer from Prime Minister Oli to head the next government, backed by the CPN-UML, but he said he rejected the offer as it came too late.

“We have registered the motion as per democratic and parliamentary values and Nepal’s constitutional and legal provision after the PM did not clear the way by tendering his resignation for the formation of a new government after his government turned into a minority one,” said Deuba.

The seven specific points in the motion state that the PM failed to make the constitution acceptable for all by addressing the concerns of Madhes-based.

NC’s CWC endorses seven-point pact

KATHMANDU: A meeting of the Nepali Congress Central Working Committee meeting endorsed the agreement reached between NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba and CPN-MC Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal and decided to implement it.

It urged Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli to tender his resignation, as his government had turned into a minority one. It also decided to move no-confidence motion against the PM, stating that he was not ready to step down.

Before the CWC meeting, Deuba had held separate meeting with Paudel informing him about the latest agreement reached between him and Dahal.

Some leaders, including Paudel, Prakash Man Singh and Sujata Koirala, criticised Deuba for taking a unilateral decision without holding consultation within the party.