NSU, ANNFSU share FSU gains

Bhairahawa, March 1:

Two major student unions — Nepal Students’ Union and All Nepal National Free Students’ Union — got mixed results in polls held yesterday for Free Student Unions at various campuses under the Tribhuvan University and Mahendra Sanskrit University across the country.

ANNFSU bagged majority of FSU positions in different campuses of the district. It remained victorious in Ramapur Multiple Campus, Yagyodaya Multiple Campus and Paklihawa Agriculture Campus.

A joint panel of ANNFSU-U and NSU (D) won the FSU elections at Butwal Multiple Campus, the second largest campus in the western region.

A joint panel of ANNFSU and ANNFSU (United) was elected in Lumbini Commerce Campus of Butwal. NSU lost the elections here after 11 years.

NSU (D) remained victorious in most of the seats at Rammani Multiple Campus.

An NSU team headed by Lekh Nath Bhattarai won all seats except one at Bhairahawa Multiple Campus.

An independent panel led by Khem Raj Bhandari was elected at Sanskrit Bidhyapeeth at Manigram.

A report from Palpa said NSU team led by Moti Lal Bhandari won all eleven seats in FSU election at Tribhuvan Multiple Campus. The victorious students took out a rally in Tansen bazaar today.

Similarly, a report from Jhapa said agitating student unions won almost all seats in the FSU elections in Mechi Multiple Campus of Bhadrapur and Damak Campus.

Asaru Rajbanshi of ANNFSU was elected FSU president and Prakash Karki of NSU (D) was elected vice-president, Nabin Bimal of NSU (D) secretary, Santosh Ghising of ANNFSU joint-secretary and Yuvraj Karki of ANNFSU treasurer in Mechi Campus.

In Damak Campus, Aaindra Bikram Kerung of NSU was elected FSU president, Upendra Dhimal of NSU (D) vice-president, Mahesh Ghimire of ANNFSU secretary, Mahendra Khadka of ANNFSU joint secretary and Dhan Bahadur Thakuri of ANNFSU (United) was elected treasurer.

A joint panel of agitating student unions won the election at Surya Narayan Satya Narayan Morbaita Yadav Multiple Campus in Siraha. Sanjay Prakash Yadav of NSU, Prabhat Kumar Yadav of NSU (D), Sudan Kusiyait of ANNFSU, Manoj Kumar Singh of NSU and Dinesh Kumar Yadav of ANNFSU were elected president, vice-president, secretary, joint-secretary and treasurer respectively.

ANNFSU panel headed by Sanjeev Raj Dhakal was elected in Hetauda Forestry Campus while panel headed by Mahesh Kumar Bartaula of ANNFSU (U) was elected in Makwanpur Multiple campus.