More than one lakh new voters registered

Bhimduttanagar, August 18

More than one lakh new voters have been registered by the Election Commission in Province 7 after the recently held local level elections.

According to the District Election Office, Kanchanpur, a total of 115,032 new voters were registered at nine districts in the far-western region.

The voter registration process is in progress in Kailali, Kanchanpur, Doti, Baitadi, Bajhang, Dhangadi, Darchula, and Dadeldhura districts in view of upcoming provincial and parliamentary elections.

Tomorrow is the last day for registering voters, shared Chief Returning Officer Keshab Singh Bhandari at the DEO, Kanchanpur.

Kailali district, which has 13 local level units, got 53,000 new voters registered while 22,000 new voters were registered in Kanchanpur’s nine local level units.

Similarly, 7,000 new voters so far have been registered at the DEO in Baitadi, which has 10 local level units.

Darchula with nine local level units has registered 5,103 new voters while Dadeldhura with seven local units registered 6,251 new voters. Doti having nine local units has seen 5,800 new voters, while Accham, where there are 10 local units, has registered 10,591 new voters.

Likewise, a total of 4,739 new voters registered their names in Bajura.