Pokhara scribes awarded

Pokhara, May 15:

Two local journalists Bheshraj Acharya and Arjoo Bista were awarded the Journalist Gajendra Bhandari Creative Journalism Award-2064.

Acharya is with the Adarsha Samaj daily and Bista is with the Annapurna FM. Newly elected president of the Federation of Nepali Journalists Dharmendra Jha gave away the awards at a function organised by the FNJ Kaski chapter. The award carrires a purse of Rs 10,000 and letter of appreciation.

Addressing the function president Jha said that newly elected body of the FNJ will lay emphasis on press freedom and development of professional journalism.

He said politics and journalist cannot go side by side and therefore the journalists should stay from politics.