Poll fever up in Baitadi

Baitadi, March 26:

Constitution assembly publicity programmes have gained momentum in the district. The candidates who were living in Kathmandu and district headquarters have returned to their villages with their supporters.

The 23 CA election candidates, including four independent, and their supporters in the two constituencies in the district have intensified their election publicity campaigns through door-to-door campaigns in the village areas in the district.

The situation in the district got tense some days ago when Maoist cadres thrashed Puran Singh Dayal, a proportionate representation closed list candidate of the CPN-UML, but normalcy has returned. The NC, CPN-UML and the Maoists are in a triangular competition in both the constituencies here.

Narendra Bam of Nepali Congress, Damodar Bhandari of CPN-UML and Narendra Kunwar of CPN-Maoist are contesting from constituency no 1. Ganesh Sing Bista of the Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) is struggling to show his presence in the constituency after influential

RPP leader and former Prime Minister opted to stay out of the poll fray this time. Likewise, Rastriya Janamorcha’s Dev Singh Mahara and Janamorcha Nepal’s Haridatta Panta and Nepali Congress’ Ghanashyam Bhatta are contesting as independent candidates. Bhatta filed his candidacy after the party denied to give him the ticket.

In constituency no 2 a triangular competition is expected between Binaya Dhoj of NC, Maya Bhatta of CPN-UML and Renu Chand of CPN-Maoist but another independent candidate from the NC Shiva Raj Bhatta and RPP’s Uttam Chand are likely to affect the competition.

Janamorcha’s Chandriram Lohar and Puskar Joshi, Tilak Singh Dhami and Bhan Bahadur Chand are contesting as independent candidates.

There are 171,212 voters in Baitadi district including 80,149 in constituency no 1 and 91,063 in constituency no 2.