Press Union and Press Centre panel wins majority positions in FNJ

KATHMANDU: The 25th general convention of the Federation of Nepali Journalists (FNJ) has elected a 47-member new working committee under the leadership of Govinda Acharya.

Acharya clinched victory with 732 votes against 627 votes secured by his close contender Tirta Koirala. Acharya was former Vice-Chairperson of FNJ and press advisor to former Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

FNJ's general convention took place at the Nepal Academy on 20-21 August.

The joint panel of the Nepal Press Union and Press Centre has clinched victory in the FNJ central committee with almost all office bearers.

The elected office bearers are Bipul Pokharel (open vice-chairperson), Dilip Thapa Magar (inclusive vice-chairperson), Ramesh Bista (general secretary), Ram Prasad Dahal (open secretary), Laxmi Pun (women secretary), Udaya GM (secretary – indigenous nationalities category), Sheetal Prasad Mahato (Madhesi secretary), Resham Bahadur Biswokarma (Dalit secretary), Prakash Thapa (secretary representing Associate sector) and Rajesh Mishra (Treasurer).

Likewise, Roshan Puri has been elected coordinator of the Accounts Committee.