Protesters pledge to maintain peace

CHITWAN: In the wake of the August 24 Tikapur incident that left eight people dead, mostly police personnel, including a Senior Superintendent of Police, local political parties, the Nepal Federation of Indigenous Nationalities (NEFIN) and the Tharu Welfare Assembly (TWA) have pledged to make their ongoing agitation peaceful.

They also pledged to not to resort to any activities that may disrupt social harmony.

They made such pledges at an all-party meeting called by the Chief District Officer Binod Prakash Singh a day after the gruesome incident.

The groups also reached an agreement with the District Administration Office, stating that they would launch protest programmes in coordination with the local administration and that police should not intervene in their 'peaceful protest'.

Bishram Mahato, Chitwan president of the TWA, advisors Tikendra Chaudhary and Lalit Chaudhary, Padam Gurung, chairman of the NEFIN, Tek Prasad Gurung, district president of the Nepali Congress, JN Thapaliya, district chairman of the CPN-UML and UCPN-Maoist leader Ghana Shyam Dahal were present in the meeting.