RJP-N informs EC about unification of six parties

Kathmandu, April 26

The recently united Rastriya Janta Party-Nepal today informed Election Commission about the unification among six Madhesi parties.

Senior leaders of the RJPN today reached the EC’s central office to inform it about the unification and its decision to use the umbrella as the party’s election symbol. The election body said that RJP-N leader informed that their party would use the umbrella as election symbol in the party’s programme.

The RJP-N has included Nepal in its party name as it found out that the RJP was already registered at the EC.

Six Madhesi parties — Tarai-Madhes Democratic Party, Sadbhawana Party, Tarai-Madhes Sadbhawana Party, National Madhes Socialist Party, Nepal Sadbhawana Party and Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum Republic have united and formed the RJP-N.

Meanwhile, the EC has decided to give the responsibility of monitoring local level polls to Press Council Nepal.

The EC has asked the Press Council Nepal to submit its report of media monitoring within seven days of the first phase of elections and report of the second phase of elections within 30 days.