Rukum NC leaders face music for betrayal

Rukum, August 9

Nepali Congress District Committee Rukum has taken action against 21 leaders, including a former state minister and a parliamentarian, for their alleged involvement in conspiring to defeat their party’s official candidates in the recent civic polls in the district.

A party meeting that reviewed the local levels elections, their candidates, representatives of constituency level  working committee and other sister organisations yesterday decided to suspend lawmaker Mithu Malla and six leaders from general membership of the party and sought written clarification from 14 others.

Parliamentarian Malla, district Secretary Janak Kumar Chand, district working committee member Bishnu Prakash Khadka, Constituency No 1 President Surat Jung Malla, constituency representatives Shiva Acharya, Tek Bahadur Pun and Bal Krishna Bhat were expelled from general membership on the recommendation of the party’s district disciplinary committee.

The disciplinary committee had sought written clarification from 25 leaders on May 22 for their non-cooperation in the first phase of civic polls.

“Of them, only four persons submitted their clarification and they were convincing. Hence, they were given clean chits,” said disciplinary department coordinator Bhim Bahadur Dangi.

According to him, those persons who were in responsible positions but acted against the party’s welfare and interest were recommended for action by the district working committee.

“The district working committee has urged the centre to suspend parliamentarian Malla from the party’s general membership for misconduct, while six others lost their memberships,” clarified Dangi.

Fourteen persons have been asked to submit written clarification within three days. The district committee will take necessary decision based on their clarification.

Parliamentarian Mithu Malla, constituency President Surat Jung Malla and constituency representative Tek Bahadur Pun have been charged with conspiring to defeat Musikot Municipality mayoral candidate Mahendra KC.