Tarai parties to finalise PR candidates today

Kathmandu, May 1:

The Madhesi Janadhikar Forum, Tarai-Madhes Democratic Party and Sadbhawana Party that have won 22, 11 and five PR seats, respectively, are to finalise their lists tomorrow.

“We could not finalise the names today as we were busy meeting party cadres and leaders but will do it tomorrow,” said MJF central member Shyamanand Suman.

The Forum has mandated party coordinator Upendra Yadav to finalise the names.

TMDP leaders have given consent to president Mahantha Thakur to choose the names, according to TMDP leader Hridayesh Tripathi.

“We have submitted 25 names to party president out of which he will choose 11,” he said. He added framing of the constitution not the forming of a government or any other issue would be their priority in the days ahead. “But Maoists have the people’s mandate to lead the government,” Tripathi said.

Sadbhawana Party held its central committee meeting today but did not dwell on the selection of PR list due to the lack of time. “We will finalise the list tomorrow,” said SP president Rajendra Mahato.

Tomorrow is the last day for the parties to submit the final lists of PR nominees. Political parties will have to select the final names out of their closed lists of candidates that were submitted to the Election Commission before the election.