Transporters declare strike from June 15

Banke, June 12:

All the bus committees in the western side of the Narayani zone, including the Bheri zonal bus and minibus entrepreneurs association, have declared to launch an indefinite transport strike from June 15.

The decision was made at a meeting of officials of the committees from Seti, Mahakali, Bheri in Nepalgunj today.

President of the Bheri zonal bus and minibus entrepreneurs association Narayan Sahasi presented six-point demands at the press conference in Nepalgunj and said the indefinite transport strike would be launched from June 15 if the demands were not met by June 14. However, the committee said it would not stop vehicles and motorbikes with red plate.

Microbuses – Hiace, Kia, city van, truck committees — have expressed their solidarity to the announcement of the committee.

The committee’s demands include compensation to all the vehicles vandalised on June 9 at Shivapuri in Kapilvastu and other vehicles vandalised before that date in different places and dates, meet demands placed by Nepal Transport Entrepreneurs’ National Federation in different dates, resolve the issues related with the vehicles seized by the government during the armed conflict, stop the vehicles carrying passengers in the name of tourists in Delhi-Kathmandu route after receiving the permit from the embassy, stop import of vehicles and opening of new firms and cancel firms which did not follow regulations.