UDMF rallies against 16-point agreement


United Democratic Madhesi Front (UDMF) today organised a protest rally against the 16-point pact of the four parties, including Madhesi Janadhikar Forum-Democratic.Earlier MJF-D chairman Bijay Kumar Gachhadar had led the UDMF, but he was ousted by other constituent parties after he was involved in signing the 16-point pact with the three major parties — Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and Unified CPN-M.

Leaders and cadres of the four constituent parties of the UDMF — Upendra Yadav-led Federal Socialist Forum Nepal, Rajendra Mahato-led Sadbhavana Party, Mahantha Thakur-led Tarai Madhes Democratic Party and Mahendra Yadav-led Tarai Madhes Sadbhavana Party were involved in the rally.

The rally began from Sundhara and converged at New Baneshwor where leaders of the four parties addressed the mass. They demanded a statute with names and demarcations of Pradeshes, scrapping of the 16-point pact and the draft constitution based on the agreement reached among the four parties.