Vote for NBA executive committee today

Kathmandu, April 1

Lawyers will vote for the new executive committee of Nepal Bar Association tomorrow.

Chief Election Officer of NBA Election Committee Hari Shankar Niraula said there were 36 polling centres across the country from where members of NBA could vote tomorrow from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. There are 9,522 voters out of which 5,862 are in the capital city.

Addressing a press conference here today, Niraula said the Election Committee had already completed preparations for the election. He said the NBA would start counting votes on April 5 or 6 when all the ballot papers would arrive in Kathmandu from the districts. Niraula said the vote count could take 4-5 days to complete. There are 71 lawyers in the fray for 25 posts of NBA executive committee.

Four lawyers are vying for the NBA presidency but a tough contest is expected between the candidates of progressive and democratic panel. Advocate Sher Bahadur KC is the candidate for NBA president from democratic panel whereas advocate Bijay Kant Mainali is the candidate for president from the progressive panel.

Advocate Ram Prasad Prajapati is an independent candidate for NBA president. Similarly advocate Manohar Sah is contesting for NBA presidency from Madhesi and Janajati group.

Candidates contesting for the post of vice-presidents from democratic panel are Madan Kumar Khadka (eastern region), Binay Singh (central region), Motiraj Gautam (central region, Kathmandu), Ghanashyam Panta (western region), Rewati Raman Bhatttarai (mid-western region), Gangaram Padhya (far-western region) and Shanta Sedhai Sapkota (women).

Similarly, Khamma Bahadur Khati and Gyan Ratna Shakya are contesting for the post of general secretary and treasurer respectively from the democratic panel.

Candidates contesting for the post of vice-presidents from progressive panel are Tanka Prasad Upreti (eastern region), Ram Sahay Ray Yadav (central region), Ramesh Badal (central region) Guman Singh Aryal (western region), Shalik Ram Sapkota (mid-western region), Kulanand Upadhyay, (far western region) and Usha Malla Pathak (women).  Dinmani Pokharel and Hari Bahadur Khadka are contesting for the posts of general secretary and treasurer, respectively from the left panel. Ram Prasad Prajapati is contesting as a candidate for NBA president.