Yadav faction authentic MJF: EC

KATHMANDU: Ending a month-long dispute between the two factions of Madhesi Janadhikar Forum, the Election Commission today recognised the Upendra Yadav-led faction as the "authentic party".

Both the factions -- one led by party president Upendra Yadav and another by parliamentary party leader and Deputy Prime Minister Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar -- had claimed the authenticity saying their majority in the central committee and in the parliamentary party.

According to EC, the decision was taken after the studying the documents presented by both factions claiming the legitimacy. The commission today also requested the DPM Gachhadar faction to register a new party.

With the EC's decision, MJF has formally split into two parties.

The Gachhadar-led faction has support of only 17 central committee members. However, it has the majority in the parliamentary party.

Before the dispute, MJF had 35 central committee members, which was later Yadav had added seven more members, making the central committee of 42 members. The commission gave validity to the extended central committee.

Talking to this daily, Jitendra Dev, a leader of Gachhadar's faction, said that they would accept the verdict of the Election Commission. "We will register a new party after the consultation with our leaders."

He added that the name of the new party, which is likely to be registered tomorrow, would be similar to that of MJF.

MJF, the fourth largest party in the Constituent Assembly with 53 lawmakers, was formally spilt as the Parliamentary Party leader Gachhadar joined the CPN-UML-led government.

Party President Yadav's faction is in the opposition now and blaming the Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal and Nepali Congress President Girija Prasad Koirala for splitting the MJF.