KATHMANDU: The democratic panel led by advocate Prem Bahadur Khadka has swept the Nepal Bar Association election held on Saturday.
This is the first time in the history of the NBA that a democratic panel has emerged victorius.
Khadka won the election after he secured 2,566 votes against his rival candidate Hari Krishna Karki of the progressive panel who secured 2,145 votes. The revolutionary panel’s candidate, Ram Nath Mainali, secured 952 votes. Independent candidates Matrika Prasad Niroula secured 59 votes, Ram Kumar Yadav secured 72, while Madan Mohan Chaudhari secured 33 votes.
The democtaic panel’s elected vice-presidents are: Sitaram Rai, estern region (2526); Surendra Mahato, central region (2466); Gopal Prasad Pandey “Alchhi”, western region (2700); Gokarna Dangi, mid-western region (2573); and Joharilal Chaudhari, far-western region (2694). Garnering 2,695 votes, Bijaya Prasad Mishra was elected for the post of general secretary as his rival candidate Hari Phuyal of progressive panel secured 2,156 votes, while the revolutionary panel’s candidate Shyamjee Pradhan bagged 829 votes.
With 2,601 votes in his kitty, Yubaraj Bhandari was elected the treasurer as his nearest candidate Shankar Subedi of the progressive panel seruced only 1,988 votes. Revolutionary panel’s candidate Harindra Prasad Rai secured 932 votes, while independent candidate Sanjaya Kumar Shah secured 230 votes.
The other elected members are: Thakur Prasad Neupane (2572); Gopal Krishna Ghimire (2528); Yogendra Bahadur Adhikari (2765); Anita Joshi Manandhar (2730); Bibek Raj Dhungel (2397); Shanta Shedhain Sapkota (2554); Satish Kumar Jha (2569); Uddhav Chandra Ghimire (2211); Manohar Shah (2262).
In all the contested posts, the UML-backed progressive panel secured the second position with a thin vote margin, while the UCPN-Maoist backed revolutionary panel secured the third position.
After the announcement of the result, Khadka said the rule of law had won the battle. He added that he would mobilise the NBA as a pressure group to protect judicial independence in the days to come. Stating that the result gives a message for the sustainable development of the democratic system in the country, he said the new NBA leadership would assist in the ongoing peace process.
Khadka said the election also gave a message to lawyers who have been trying to curtail judicial independence.

Vote tally

President Votes
Prem Bahadur Khadka (Demo) 2,566
Hari Krishna Karki (Pro) 2,145
Ram Nath Mainali (Revo) 952

General Secretary
Bijaya Prasad Mishra (Demo) 2,695
Hari Phuyal (Pro) 2,156
Shyamjee Pradhan (Revo) 829

Vice Presidents (Demo Elected)
Sitaram Rai (East) 2,626
Surendra K Mahato (Mid) 2,466
Gopal P Pandey “Alchhi” (West) 2,700
Gokarna Dangi (Mid West) 2,573
Johari L Chaudhari (Far West) 2,694

Yuba Raj Bhandari (Demo) 2,601
Shankar Subedi (Pro) 1,988
Harindra P Rai (Revo) 932