KATHMANDU: The top brass of the three major political parties — UCPN-Maoist, Nepali Congress and CPN-UML — on Saturday expressed confidence that they would come to a consensus within the next few days to end the ongoing stalemate.
Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal, NC president Girija Prasad Koirala, UCPN-M chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ and CPN-UML chairman Jhala Nath Khanal, who
attended the annual tea reception, hosted by the Nepali Congress on the occasion of Dashain, said that the agreement could pave the way for the politics of unity soon.
The PM said that the deadlock would end by October 7 — the day the House is slated to resume business after Dashain
“We’ve managed to iron out several differences. The discussions, among the three major parties, are
going on,” the PM said.
NC president Girija Prasad Koirala exuded confidence in resolving the disputes through meaningful dialogues.
“The message of unity is reflected in the tea party. It will help us to achieve our cherished goals like bringing the peace process to a logical conclusion and drafting the new constitution on time.”
Prachanda echoed similar views. He assured the mediapersons that good news was in the offing.
The Maoist chief also shook hands with former Chief of Army Staff (CoAS) General Rookmangud Katawal and PM Nepal at the programme in a marked departure from recent
The Maoists have been boycotting the programmes that have been attended by the PM.
Likewise, they have also been agitating for the last four months against Katawal’s reinstatement by President Dr Ram Baran Yadav, claiming that it was an unconstitutional move.
BP Koirala, the founder of the NC, had started the tradition of hosting tea reception on the occasion of Dashain after he returned home from exile in India more than three decades ago. The event is an embodiment of national unity and conciliation.
Constituent Assembly chairperson Subas Nembang, political leaders, former Prime Ministers, journalists, civil society members, dignitaries, foreign diplomats were present at the programme, which was held at Bhrikutimandap in the