Rosebud basketball tournament from today

Kathmandu, November 21

Rosebud School is organising the first Valleywide Basketball Tournament on its premises in Buddhanagar from Tuesday.

A total of 20 teams — 12 in boys and eight in girls’ sections — will take part in the tournament which will be played under league-cum-knock out format, informed the organisers at a press meet today.

Students of grade XI and XII are eligible to participate in the competition to be organised under the FIBA rules.

In boys’ category, CCRC College, Universal College and Nobel Academy are in Group A, while BernHardt College, Gyan Niketan and Rato Bangala School are pitted in Group B.

Likewise, hosts Rosebud School, New Summit College and Columbus College were drawn in Group C, while Times College, Xavier International College and Nepalaya College are in Group D.

Top two teams from all four groups will enter the quarter-finals after the league matches.

Similarly, NASA College, BernHardt, Brihaspati Vidhyasadan and New Summit College are in Group A in the girls’ category, while Xavier, hosts Rosebud, RIA and Trinity College are in Group B.

Top teams from both groups will advance to the last four after the league matches. The final matches are slated for December 1.

“This is the first ever sports event we have been organising in our school and we chose basketball as we felt comfortable in doing so.

This is just the beginning as we have plans to organise other sports in future,” said Rosebud School Principal Ranjit Thapa.

He also informed that the budget of the tournament is Rs 200,000. Tournament coordinator Raju Shrestha was also present on the occasion.