55 cricketing greats in ICC Hall of Fame

Sydney, January 2:

Former India captains Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev and Bishan Singh Bedi were among the 55 cricketing greats who were inducted in the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) newly-formed Hall of Fame here on Friday.

The honour is a joint venture with the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations as part of the ICC’s centenary year celebrations. ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said the Hall of Fame would provide the chance for the game to recognise its greatest achievers. Former Australia wicketkeeper Rodney Marsh was the first to receive a commemorative cap from ICC president David Morgan as an inductee.

The other 52 inductees are Sydney Barnes, Alec Bedser, Richie Benaud, Allan Border, Ian Botham, Geoffrey Boycott, Donald Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell, Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey, Lance Gibbs, Graham Gooch, David Gower, WG Grace, Tom Graveney, Gordon Greenidge, Richard Hadlee, Walter Hammond, Neil Harvey, Ron Headley, Jack Hobbs, Michael Holding, Leonard Hutton, Rohan Kanhai, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Jim Laker, Harold Larwood, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Clive Lloyd, Hanif Mohammad, Rodney Marsh, Malcolm Marshall, Peter May, Javed Miandad, Keith Miller, Bill O’Reilly, Graeme Pollock, Wilfred Rhodes, Barry Richards, Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts, Garfield Sobers, Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Derek Underwood, Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes, Frank Woolley, and Frank Worrell.