Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, January 7:

Deepak Acharya dominated the field over the four days and finished with 11-under 277 to win the Kailash Tea Open Golf Tournament here at the par-72 Gokarna Forest Golf Resort today.

Acharya, who carded personal best of 7-under 65 on the first day, five-under 67 on the second day, and one-over 73 on the third day, had a 18-stroke lead going into the final day and played an even-par 72 on Friday for a 22-stroke win over Pashupati Nagarkoti.

There was no competition for the title, but Nagarkoti and Deepak Thapa Magar had a tough fight for the second place. After Nagarkoti finished the front nine at four-over 40 and Deepak had a three-over 39, both the players were tied at 263 each.

Deepak went ahead after Nagarkoti had a bogey in the par-5 11th, while Nagarkoti fell two-stroke behind when Deepak had an eagle in the next hole. But the Par-3 13th sank Deepak, when he had a double bogey and Nagarkoti levelled the score with a birdie.

Deepak had a bogey in the par-5 15th, and Nagarkoti finished with par which put him one-stroke ahead and Nagarkoti birdied the par-4 18th for a two-stroke win over Deepak.

Shiva Ram Shrestha won the amateur section title with a gross score of 307, while Wanchen Dhondup came second with 311. Lobsang Tashi came first in the nett section with 296 points, and Krishnaman Shrestha finished runner-up with 305. Deepak Acharya pocketed a purse of Rs 45,000 and runner-up Ramesh Nagarkoti got Rs 23,000.

D C Khanna, CEO of Siddhartha Bank, gave away prizes to the winners of the tournament sponsored by Kailash Tea. Raj Kumar Thard, MD of Kailash Tea, Raman Kaul, GM of Le Meridien Gokarna Forest Golf Resort, and Bajrang Singh, GM of Kailash Tea, were also present on the occasion. FINAL SCORES: 277 - Deepak Acharya; 299 - Ramesh Nagarkoti,; 301 - Deepak Thapa Magar; 303 - Pashupati Sharma; 307 - Shiva Ram Shrestha; 308 - Deepak Neupane; 310 - Sabin Sapkota; 311 - Surya P Sharma, Wanchen Dhondup; 312 - Ram Thapa; 313 - Yelamber Adhikari; 314 - Sachin Bhattarai, Mani Rai; 315 - C B Bhandari; 317 - Krishnaman Shrestha; 320 - Ravi Khadka; 328 - Rajendra Phuyal; 342 - Ram Krishna Shrestha; 344 - Lobsang Tashi.