Air Dynasty wins Kathmandu Scramble Golf Tournament

KATHMANDU: The team of Air Dynasty won the Kathmandu Scramble Golf Tournament here at the Royal Nepal Golf Club (RNGC) today.

Pro Deepak Thapa Magar along with amateurs Ang Tshering Sherpa, Phintso O Lama and Greesh Bindra accumulated 14-under 53 to win the tournament played over 18 holes under the stroke play scratch handicap format. Thapa Magar earned Rs 38,000 while the three amateurs received trophies.

The team of pro Pashupati Sharma and amateurs Rabin Rana, Krishna C Kayastha and Pratik Kayastha led Beesants Trading Co to second place finish with 12-under 55, while Carlsberg Gorkha Brewery and Himalayan Distillery came tied third at 11-under 56. Sharma bagged Rs 28,000.

Ramesh Nagarkoti — who earned the honour of Hole in One at the par-three Hole No 3 — led Carlsberg team along with amateur Raj Pradhan, UK Dayananda and Sumitra Dayananda, while Himalayan Distillery consisted of pro Sanjay Lama and amateur golfers Shrihar Rana, Neeraj Rana and Tashi Sherpa. The Hole in One on the 155-yard hole was Nagarkoti’s fifth overall and fourth at the home course, RNGC. He had also earned the feat during the practice round of the Pakistan Amateur Open in 1995. Nagarkoti and Lama received Rs 21,000 each for the third place, while Nagarkoti earned another Rs 3,000 for the feat.

KIA Motors — led by Nepal No 1 pro Shiva Ram Shrestha and Vijay Motors — led by Rabi Khadka — finished tied fifth at nine-under 57. ISME Pvt Ltd (Sachin Bhattarai) and Himalayan Bank (Ram Thapa) came joint seventh with the scores of 59. Salt Trading (Deepak Acharya) finished ninth at seven-under 60 and Laxmi Bank (CB Bhandari) came 10th with the scores of six-under 61.

Himalayan Distillery won the most birdies award with 11 birdies, while Beesants Trading bagged the longest drive award at Hole No 11 and Gorkha Brewery claimed the closest to the pin award at Hole No 14.

In all, 15 teams — sponsored by corporate and business houses — took part in the one-day event organised by the RNGC. ISME Pvt Ltd had fielded three teams, while Himalayan Bank and Salt Trading had two teams each. Temple Tiger, Himalayan Distillery, KIA Motors, Vijay Motors, Laxmi Bank, Beesants Trading, Air Dynasty and Gorkha Brewery had one team each.

Nepal Professional Golfers Association President Rabindra Man Shrestha, Nepal Golf Association President Vinode SJB Rana, RNGC President Madhukar Yakthumba and vice president Prachanda Bahadur Shre-stha gave away the prizes.