Anirudhha claim School Cricket League crown

Bhairahawa, June 15

Anirudhha HS School won the title of the Expert School Cricket League here at the Siddhartha Stadium today.

The Kanchanpur-based school defeated New Horizon HS School of Rupandehi by four wickets in the final.

Invited to take the first strike, New Horizon were bowled out for a paltry 71 runs in 19.2 overs before Anirudhha raced to victory in 16.4 overs with the loss of six wickets.

Sajan Gautam top scored for Anirudhha with 18 runs, while Ashok Bista contributed 17 runs. Kusha Malla was the pick of the New Horizon bowlers taking three wickets, while Sandesh Pandey, Prakash Giri and Sandeep Pandey claimed one wicket apiece.

Earlier, New Horizon were packed cheaply. Bishal Khatri scored 19 runs, while Prakash Giri and Mausam Khamcha contributed 13 and 11 runs respectively. For Anirudhha, Arbind Ayer and Bhuwan Pal took two wickets each, while Ashok Bista, Rabon Saud and Paras KC pocketed one apiece. Arbind Ayer of Anirudhha was named the man-of-the-match.

With the victory, Anirudhha School pocketed Rs 100,000, while runners-up New Horizon earned Rs 50,000. New Horizon’s Kushal Malla was named the man-of-the-series and the best batsman of the tournament, while his teammate Sandesh Pandey was declared the best bowler. Likewise, Paras KC of Anirudhha was adjudged the best fielder.

A total of six teams — one each from Rupandehi, Chitwan, Tanahun, Kathmandu, Kailali and Kanchanpur districts — took part in the tournament organised by Himalayan Cricket Academy under the sponsorship of Expert Education and Visa Services.

President of Rupandehi Cricket Association Prashanta Bikram Malla, Managing Director of Expert Education and Visa Services Roshan Kandel and Tournament Director Subash Pradhan handed over the prizes to the winners.