APF, Province-1 enter PM Cup final

Dang, January 2

Nepal APF Club and Province-1 advanced to the final of the Sagarmatha Cement PM Cup Women’s National Cricket Tournament here today.

APF defeated Sudurpashchim by nine wickets, while Province-1 thrashed Lumbini Province by 10 wickets in the semi-final matches at the proposed Deukhuri International Cricket Stadium in Lamahi. The final is scheduled for Sunday.

In the first semi-final match which was reduced to 16-over-a-side due to adverse weather conditions, Sudurpashchim posted 60-7 before APF raced to 61-1 with six balls to spare. APF opener Jyoti Pandey and Sarita Magar shared a 47-run partnership for the second wicket to the departmental side home after Sita Rana Magar (seven) was dismissed cheaply.

Skipper Rana Magar was dismissed in the fifth over with 14 runs on the board. She struck a four in her 17- ball knock. Pandey remained unbeaten on 26 off 38 balls hitting a four, while Sarita Magar struck a boundary on her way to scoring 19 not out off 35 balls. Kabita Kunwar took the only APF wicket to fall.

Earlier, only two Sudurpashchim batters could score in double figures. Kabita Joshi top scored with an unbeaten 21-ball 22, while Rewati Dhami struck a four in her 22-ball 12. Karuna Bhandari was the pick of the APF bowlers taking 3-11 from four overs and that earned her the player-of-the-match award, while skipper Sita Rana Magar grabbed a wicket.

In another match, Lumbini were all out for 52 in 14.1 overs before Province-1 reached 55 without loss in just 8.5 overs. Province-1 openers Kajal Shrestha and Rubina Chhetri made sure the team enter the final on a high sharing a 55-run partnership.

Skipper Chhetri remained unbeaten on 26 off 30 balls, while Shrestha scored 23-ball 22 not out. Both the batters struck two fours each.

Earlier, only Nitu Bhandari scored in double figures for Sudurpashchim. Bhandari struck a four in her 30-ball 21. Sharmila Magar was the next best contributor with an unbeaten seven. Player of the match Sangita Rai and Ngima Tamang took two wickets each for Province-1, while skipper Chhetri bagged one.