Arjun, Dipa best

KATHMANDU: Arjun Bhatta and Dipa Thapa of Far-Western Region were named the best players of the first National Icon Amar Singh Thapa Memorial Cup Jeet Kundo Martial Arts Championship here today.

On the final day, Bhairav Thapa and Shova Shrestha of central dojo won the combat section gold medals. Bikash Sibakoti and

Hikmat Magar came second and third in men’s section, while Sabita Joshi and Lasang Dolma did so in women’s category.

The top three players in both the sections

received Rs 10,000,

Rs 3,000 and Rs 2,000 respectively. The gold medal winners in official fight were Naresh Bhattarai and Manju Khadka

of Far-western Region (36-42kg), Kushal Tandon of Nepal Japan School and Nikita Thapa of Central Dojo (Under-25kg), and Ram Krishna Budhathoki of Basundhara Public School and Payal Nepal of Far-Western Region (25.5-31kg).

A total of 160

players took part in the two-day event. Constituent Assembly Member Chandra Bahadur Thapa gave away prizes to the winners of the championship organised by National Icon Amar Singh Thapa Foundation and Nepal Jeet Kundo Association.