Nepal | August 21, 2019

Army make it four in a row

Himalayan News Service

Lalitpur, June 10

Three-time defending champions Tribhuvan Army Club won the title of the fourth CoAS Men’s National Volleyball Tournament here at the Nepali Army Sports Complex today.

TAC came from a set down to defeat Gandaki Province 3-1 in the final of the tournament to win the fourth consecutive title.

Gandaki won the first set 25-16 before the hosts bounced back hard and dominated the match.

TAC levelled the scored at 1-1 after winning the second set 25-8 before conceding 10 points in the third quarter. TAC then took the fourth set 25-16 to seal the victory.

With the win, TAC received Rs 300,000, while runners-up Gandaki — who had made it to the final defeating another departmental side Nepal APF Club in the semi-finals — earned Rs 150,000. Third-placed Nepal Police Club got Rs 75,000.

TAC also dominated the individual awards winning five out of seven honours.

TAC’s Bhairav Bam, who played an important role in making his team champion for the fourth time, was declared the player of the tournament and he received Pulsar motorcycle from Poonam Singh, Assistant Director of Hansraj Hulaschand and Company Limited.

Likewise, Ishwor Thapa was named the best blocker, while his TAC teammates Durga Prasad Mahato and Hari Adhikari were adjudged the best setter and blocker.

Kapil Kishor Shrestha was named the best coach. Yam Chhetri of Gandaki and Kul Bahadur Thapa of NPC won the best spiker and server awards respectively. The six best individuals received Rs 10,000 each.

A total of 10 teams — one each from seven provinces and three departmental clubs — took part in the tournament. Chief of the Army Staff, Gen Purna Chandra Thapa among others handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament.

A version of this article appears in print on June 11, 2019 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: