Army win three golds

Lalitpur, January 12

Tribhuvan Army dominated the team events of the National Shooting Tournament here at the International Sports Complex today.

TAC accumulated 1698 points out of 1800 to win the men’s Air Rifle team event, while Central finished second with 1598 points and Mid-western came third with 1588 points. In women’s category, TAC garnered 1128 points out of 1200 and finished first ahead of Nepal Police Club (1127) and Central Region (1009).

TAC also won women’s Air Pistol team event with 1067 points, while NPC (1044) and Mid-west (924) finished second and third respectively. However, Central won men’s category title after accumulating 1607 points. TAC (1588) and Eastern (1566) came second and third respectively.

Meanwhile, top eight shooters in 10m Air Rifle and top five in 10m Air pistol in both men and women categories confirmed their berths in Saturday’s finals.

In women’s Air Rifle section, Sushmita Nepal (383 points) of Central, Western’s Sneha RL Rana (383), Central’s Sinduja Basnet (379), NPC’s Durga Sinjali (379), TAC’s Sabina Tamang (378), NPC’s Phul Maya Kapchhaki (377), and TAC shooters Kalpana Pariyar (375) and Mira Banjara (375) made it to the final.

In women’s Air Pistol category, TAC’s Jyoti Dahal (364) and Sarita Basnet (358), Western’s Shreya KC (357) and NPC’s Sabita Basnet (357) and Sima Tuladhar (357) finished in top five. In men’s Air Rifle, Western’s Dhan Bahadur BK (574 points), NPC’s Hari Bahadur Thapa (573), TAC’s Krishna Ghorasaini (570), Mid-western’s Pawan Ghimire (569), TAC’s Sushe Chaudhary (568), Mid-western’s Arnav Bhimire (560), TAC’s Kumar Karki (560) and Central’s Pratik Kunwar (547) took berths in the final.

In Air Pistol category, Central’s Suman Tuladhar (551) and Bipesh Khadka (545), TAC’s Kuber KC (543) and Bishnu Bishwo Magar (533) and Eastern’s Prakash Rai (525) were the top five shooters.