Australia bag maiden Champions Trophy title

Mumbai, November 5:

Australia wrestled the Champions Trophy from the West Indies with an eight-wicket victory here on Sunday.

Ricky Ponting’s men won the biennial event for the first time bowling out the defending champions for 138 and then cantering home in the 29th over.

The target was revised to 116 from 35 overs after rain prevented play after the dinner break which Australia took at 45-2 in 10 overs.

Nathan Bracken took 3-22 as the West Indies lost their last eight wickets for 58 runs after sailing merrily at 80-2 in the 10th over.

Australia slipped to 13-2 in the fourth over as Adam Gilchrist (2) was caught in the slips off Ian Bradshaw and Ponting was leg-before to Jerome Taylor.

Damien Martyn (47) and Shane Watson boosted the world champions with an unbroken third-wicket stand of 103. Watson returned unconquered on 57 and was declared the man of the final.

The West Indies made a rollicking start as openers Chris Gayle and Shivnarine Chanderpaul (27) plundered 49 off the first five overs.

Gayle, the top-scorer in the tournament with 437 runs, raced to 37 off 27 balls before Bracken ended his hurricane innings. Gayle ended with 474 runs including three centuries and was named the man of the tournament. Team-mate Taylor was the leading bowler with 13 wickets.