BCC team leaving for Thailand today

Kathmandu, October 25

A 10-member team of Baluwatar Cricket Club is on Wednesday leaving for Thailand to defend the title of the International Sixes Tournament slated for October 28 to November 1 in Bangkok.

Former President of Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) Binay Raj Pandey bade farewell to the team amidst a programme at the Baluwatar Training Centre today. A total of 12 teams from Nepal, India, Sri Lanka, Australia, Singapore, United Kingdom, Thailand, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Philippines, China and Taiwan will participate in the tournament. The Nepali team won the championship last year.

President of the club, Upendra Prasad Bhattarai hoped the team would be successful in repeating last year’s performance. “Although you are participating in the tournament under the banner of Baluwatar Cricket Club, you will be representing the nation in Thailand. So, I urge you all for fair play,” said Bhattarai. “And I hope you will make us proud again by giving your 100 per cent in the tournament,” added the former vice-president of CAN.

Coach and skipper Sunil Lama will lead the team to Thailand and he was confident of defending the title. “We have a strong team and hopefully we will return home with the trophy,” said Lama. “It will not be easy as other nations also send strong club teams. We have prepared well for the tournament and I am hoping for the best,” he said. Sonu Tamang is the vice-captain of the team, while Suman Uday, Robin Joshi, Bijay Gautam, Naresh Nepali, Bipin Sharma, Prakash Chand, Dipesh Khatri and Prabin Baral are the other members in the squad.