Bansbari Club shock NRT

Lalitpur, September 25

Bansbari Club stunned favourites New Road Team 3-2 in the Martyrs Memorial B Division Football League here at the ANFA Complex grounds today.

Bansbari took an early lead after Bibek Gurung found the net in the second minute. Sushil Lama levelled the scores for NRT in the 37th minute and Birendra Thapa put them ahead a minute later. The match became interesting when Shikhar Upreti of Bansbari scored the equaliser in the 88th minute. And, Arik Bista netted the winning goal in the third minute of injury time.

The former top flight team, NRT not only lost the match but also missed the chance to move atop at a time when only three rounds left. Top two teams from the 14-team competition will get promotion to A Division, while bottom two will be relegated.

Meanwhile, leaders Shree Kumari shared spoils with relegation-threatened Samajik Youth Club after they played a 1-1 draw at the same venue. Bhuwan Basnet put Samajik ahead in the 78th minute before Prajwal Thapa Magar levelled the scores in the fourth minute of the injury time that helped Shree Kumari snatch a point.

In another vital match, Ranipokhari Corner Team beat Divine Boys Union Club 3-0 to move up to second position. Bike Tamang netted a brace, while Shekhar Limbu scored a goal for RCT. After the completion of the 10th round, Shree Kumari are atop with 21 points, one more than RCT while NRT have 19 points.

Similarly, Bansbari, Nayabasti and Boys Union are seventh to ninth on goal difference after being tied on 13 points.