Bara, Dang, Kailali win

KATHMANDU: Bara, Dang and Kailali districts registered wins on the inaugural day of the Inter-school (District) Twenty20 National Cricket Tournament, organised by Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN), here on Wednesday.

Bara eased to a comprehensive eight-wicket win over Sunsari in the match held at the Laboratory School grounds. In the rain marred seven-over a-side match, Sunsari made 60-5 and Bara replied with 63-2 in 5.3 overs. Raju Ansari (19) and Nikesh Shrestha (13) gave Sunsari an explosive starts putting on opening wicket stand of 44 runs. But their dismissals in the space of three balls meant Sunsari could only add further 16 runs in 17 deliveries. Nikesh struck one six and a four in his 10 ball knock while Raju hit two boundaries and a six in 15 balls. Pramod Yadav claimed two wickets while Suraj Gupta and Ainul Bashar took one apiece for Bara.

In reply, Pramod Yadav and Amit Shrestha put on 48-run opening stand to ease Bara’s run chase. Man of the match Pramod struck three sixes and as many four and remained unbeaten on 33 off 14 balls. Amit also scored a fiery 12-ball 26, hitting three sixes and a four. Sumit BK and Bibek Gupta took one wicket each for Sunsari.

In the other match held at the Tribhuvan University Stadium, Dang defeated Banke by five wickets. Banke were dismissed for a paltry 50 runs in 14.2 overs with Pratik Singh contributing the highest 14 runs.

Sanju KC, who was later named man of the match, took four wickets and Bijaya Rokaya and Kharka GM bagged two each for Dang. Dang overcame the target losing five wickets

in 14.3 overs. Their run chase was eased by 29 sundries conceded by Banke. Sujit Sharma top scored with unbeated 10 runs. Afroj Siddique grabbed three and Pratik Singh claimed two wickets fro Banke.

In the other match at the Lab School grounds, Kailali beat Surkhet by seven wickets. Put into bat first, Surkhet could only muster 57 runs from 15.5 overs. Prakash Bhusal contributed the highest 12 runs as their total was boosted by 37 extras runs.

Man of the match Deep Jung Deubal claimed four, Sisir Bista two and Arjun Chapagai and Karan Jung Swar grabbed one wicket each for Kailali. In reply, Kailali overcame the 58-run target losing three wickets in 8.4 overs. Tapendra Saud and Khagendra Bista scored 16 runs each while Aman Shrestha chipped in with unbeaten 13 runs for Kailali.