BCC claim Khukuri Challenger Cup

Kathmandu, February 17

Baluwatar Cricket Club defeated Kathmandu Cricket Training Centre by eight runs  in the final of the Khukuri Challenger T20 Cup here at the Tribhuvan University Stadium today.

Opting to bat first, Baluwatar scored 151-9 in their allotted 20 overs before restricting KCTC to 143-6. Baluwatar  posted the fighting total riding on Amar Singh Rautela’s 18-ball 33 that included three boundaries and two sixes. In reply, KCTC’s Adil Khan top  scored with run-a-ball 32 hitting one each four and six.

Champions Baluwatar received Rs 300,000 and runners-up KCTC earned Rs  100,000. Player-of-the-match Kshitiz Singh of Baluwatar got Rs  20,000. Similarly, best batsman Rabindra Jung Shahi of  Tikapur Cricket Club, best bowler Avinash Bohara of Tribhuvan Army Club  and emerging player Sagar Dhakal of Great Himalayan Cricket Academy got  Rs 10,000 each.

A total of 20 teams competed in the league-cum-knockout tournament organised by Khukuri Ent.