Bhairahawa enter final

Kathmandu, June 7:

Amrit Bhattarai took five wickets and Antim Thapa and Sagar Khadka hit half centuries as Region No 4 (Bhairahawa) entered the final of the Wai Wai Under-19 National Cricket League with a 73-run win over Region No 1 (Biratnagar) at the TU Stadium.

Put into bat first, two-time defending champions Bhairahawa were all out for 175 in 44.5 overs. In reply, Biratnagar were packed for 102 runs in 36.5 overs. The match was reduced to 48-over-a-side due to the wet outfield caused by the overnight rain.

Bhairahawa skipper Thapa hit four fours in his 98-ball 57 while Khadka scored 58 off 87 balls including three fours and one six. Govinda Pradhan also struck a four and a six in his 26-ball 18.

For Biratnagar, Puspa Thapa took 4-15 off six overs and was ably supported by Santosh Baral, who claimed 3-32.

In reply, Biratnagar lost wickets in regular interval and failed to build partnerships as they were all out for 102 runs. Except for Pawan Das (16), Santosh Baral (14) and Puspa Thapa (15), others failed to reach the double figure mark. For Bhairahawa, Amrit Bhattarai returned with 8.5-1-10-5 that also earned him the man of the match award, while Rahul BK took 2-16.

On Friday, Kathmandu will take on Nepalgunj in the other semi-final at the same venue.