Tamang wins Junior Golf C’ship

Kathmandu, November 4

Binod Tamang won the title of the NGA-CMS Junior Golf Championship here at the Royal Nepal Golf Club today.

Played under stableford scratch handicap format over nine holes, Tamang finished first in the boys’ U-16 section with 11 points. Rohit Lama came second with 10 points. In the boys’ U-13 age category, Sadbhav Acharya accumulated 13 points to win the title finishing ahead of Swopnil Bhattarai, who earned 12 points. In girls’ section, Prativa Rai came first with seven points, while Juny Gurung finished second with six points.

Likewise, Ashrit Bista won the longest drive award, while Bikash Lama was runner-up, while Sushant Kadel and Dipesh Yadav claimed top two positions respectively in the straightest drive section. Ashraya Bista and Aarya Shrestha finished first and second respectively in the closest-to-the-pin. In a separate putting competition, Surdarshan Sunar came first, while Sumit Lama was runner-up.

A total of 40 players took part in the event organised by Nepal Golf Association under the sponsorship of International Society for Medical Education. The tournament was part of the CMS-NGA Junior Golf Development Programme that began in Kathmandu in June.