BBC, NPC enter final

Lalitpur, July 18

Defending champions Brigade Boys Club and Nepal Police Club advanced to the final of the Lalit Memorial U-18 Football Championship here at the ANFA Complex grounds today.

In the day’s semi-final matches, BBC hammered Manang Marshyangdi Club 7-1, while NPC registered a 3-1 victory over Jawalakhel Youth Club 3-1. The final of the tournament — organised by All Nepal Football Tournament in memory of its acting president Lalit Krishna Shrestha — is slated for Sunday.

Rejin Subba completed a hat-trick for holders BBC, while Shishir Lekhi netted a brace. Jaya Gurung and Birjesh Chaudhary scored one each for the winners. Sachin Gurung scored the consolation goal for MMC.

Shishir Lekhi put BBC ahead in the 15th minute before Sachin Gurung scored the equaliser for MMC in the 25th minute. BBC then took control of the match and netted six unanswered goals. BBC restored the lead in the 30th minute when Rejin Subba opened his accounts.

Shishir Lekhi netted his second goal of the match in the 54th minute to make it 3-1, while Jaya Gurung extended the lead in the 66th minute. Subba found the back of the nets for the second time in the 71st minute before Birjesh Chaudhary got his name in the scoresheet in the 83rd minute. Rejin Subba then struck his third goal of the match 88th minute to complete the rout.

In another semi-final match, Sanju Sen scored a brace and Rabin Rai netted one for NPC, while Shrishak Bhakta Shrestha replied for JYC. Sanju Sen opened the scoring for the departmental side in the 28th minute before Shrishak Bhakta Shrestha levelled the scores for JYC in the 44th minute.

NPC restored the lead moments before the first half whistle when Sanju Sen scored his second goal of the match in the second minute of the injury time. Rabin Rai then sealed the victory for NPC with a goal in the 89th minute.