BUC hold APF; RCT beat Bouddha

Kathmandu, February 15:

Ranipokhari Corner Team (RCT) defeated Bouddha FC 5-4 while Gyanendra APF Officers’ Club and Boys’ Union Club (BUC) played a 1-1 draw in the Martyrs’ Memorial San Miguel ‘A’ Division League matches here today.

Except for Boys’ Union, all the other three teams remained unmoved in the table. With two clubs, BFC and Mahabir, already relegated, BUC climbed one spot up to ninth pushing back Jawalakhel Youth Club (JYC) to 10th position.

RCT ensured the seventh position with 37 points from 27 matches. Sankata (27) can not surpass RCT even if it wins and RCT loses in their last match. APF fininshed their maiden campaign cementing fifth position.

In a meaningless game, Rishi Rai scored twice and Milan Shrestha, Surendra Balami and Ajit Thapa added one each for RCT. Bikash Sapkota scored two and Milan Tamang scored one goal for Bouddha while RCT’s Pradip Acharya conceded an own goal to BFC.

Sapkota had provided BFC the lead in the fourth minute on a pass from Pradip Kunwar before Milan equalised in the 14th minute. Rishi put RCT ahead scoring from the edge of the box in the 23rd minute but BFC came back into the game as Sapkota scored a brilliant goal one minute before break.

Balami made it 3-2 for RCT in the 45th minute before Rishi extended the margin to 4-2 in the 51st. Ajit added another a minute later. Milan Tamang pulled one back back in the 58th while Pradip conceded an own goal to finish the game 5-4.

In the second game, APF, who fielded the second string players, took lead in the 72nd minute when Bishal Lama converted a 30-yard free kick. BUC’s goalie Amir Byanjankar spilled the straight forward ball into the nets.

Binay Chaudhary levelled the scores through a header following Bhupen Lama’s corner in the 88th minute.

Machhindra award players

KATHMANDU: Machhindra FC, which survived the relegation battle in their maiden season in the ‘A’ Division, awarded the players and officials today. Bikash Shrestha and Buddha Chemjong jointly won the golden boot award, while AM Michael was declared the best striker and Madan Rai best player. Other winners were Subham Shrestha (most devoted), Gudiya Rai (best midfielder), Rajendra Tamang (Red Lion) and Narottam Shakya (best official). ANFA president Ganesh Thapa received the special award. — HNS