KATHMANDU: The cabinet meeting decided

to dismiss National Sports Council (NSC) treasurer Ajar Manandhar and member Niran Khadka from their duties today.

Manandhar and Khadka, who were drafted in at the NSC board

as the Nepali Congress quota by the-then CPN-UML led ministry, have not resigned even after the Tarai Madhesh Loktantrik Party (TMLP) appointed a new NSC member secretary Hari Babu Chaudhary recently.

Going by the tradition, a change of guard in the sports ministry paves way to a new board. CPN-UML appointed Member Secretary Jeevan Ram Shrestha and vice-president Sitaram Maskey among others have already stepped down. “I was forced to take the matter in the cabinet as they are yet to resign from the office,” said Minister for Youth and Sports Ganesh Nepali here today.

“I had put forward three agendas in the cabinet but unfortunately only one of those was passed today,” said minister Nepali. Minster Nepali revealed that his agendas were to finalise the names of remaining 10 NSC board members, pass the Youth Policy and force the members of the previous board out.

“Hopefully the next cabinet will finalise the names of the 10 other NSC board members,” said minister Nepali. The ministry has a provision of appointing 11 members in the NSC. The number game has been causing the delay in the appointment, revealed the minister.

“CPN-UML are demanding

three while Nepali Congress are asking for two berths. We will sort

out the difference and will try to reach consensus on the matter very soon,” said Nepali.

Minister Nepali said that the delay will, however, cause no problem in Nepal’s preparation for the 11th South Asian Games. “Since we have already appointed member secretary, he will keep the momentum going,” added Nepali.