CAN announces T20 squad

Kathmandu, October 16:

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) today announced the final 14 for the ACC Twenty20 Cup cricket tournament to be held in Kuwait from October 25 to November 2.

The squad was picked by the national selection committee headed by Bijay Kumar Sharma from the 19-member camp held in Kathmandu, said CAN in a release. Binod Das was retained the skipper of the national side, while Paras Khadka was named the vice captain replacing Shakti Prasad Gauchan.

Other members in the squad included Gauchan, Paresh Lohani, Sharad Vesawkar, Mehboob Alam, Basanta Regmi, Akash Gupta, Dipendra Chaudhary, Dipesh Khatri, Rahul Kumar BK, Gyanendra Malla, Mahesh Chhetry and Aamir Akhtar. Sanjam Regmi, Amrit Bhattarai, Avay Rana and Dhirendra Chand were named in the reserved list.

Nepal are in Group A along with Malaysia, Qatar, Afghanistan and Oman, while Group B consists of UAE, Kuwait, Hong Kong, Singapore and Saudi Arabia.

Nepal will open against Malaysia on October 27, before playing Qatar (October 28), Afghanistan (October 30) and Oman (October 31). The matches will be held at three venues — Kuwait Oil Company Hubara, Kuwait Oil Company Unity and Kuwait Entertainment City Ground.