CAN moves court against NSC

Kathmandu, January 12

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) today filed writ petition at the Supreme Court against National Sports Council’s decision of forming an ad hoc committee.

The NSC on Friday announced the 15-member committee led by Ramesh Silwal, the former vice-president of CAN and also the General Secretary of the three-member committee formed by the Ministry for Youth and Sports.

The NSC has given the mandate of holding fresh elections to the new committee within three months. The NSC, who ignored the elective general assembly of CAN, had instructed CEO Bhawana Ghimire to look after day-to-day activities. The third AGM of CAN on December 14 elected an 17-member executive committee under Chatur Bahadur Chand but the NSC had been saying the committee was obsolete. A faction of CAN led by president Tanka Angbuhang had boycotted the elections.

“We moved the Supreme Court against the decision of National Sports Council as we are the legitimate body,” said Chand. “The NSC created a controversy in cricket by forming a parallel committee,” he added. The CAN has made 23 defendants — Nepal government, MoYS, NSC, Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista, 15 members of the NSC formed committee, CEO Bhawana Ghimire, NSC chief accountant Basu Dev Acharya, CAN accountant Rajesh Maharjan and Nepal Investment Bank Limited.

“Apart from forming a parallel committee, the NSC also handed over the day-to-day responsibility to CEO Bhawana Ghimire and blocked the CAN account at the NIBL,” added Chand. The previous writ petition filed by the Cricket Association of Nepal against the formation of three-member ad hoc committee by the MoYS is still pending in the Supreme Court.