Depot send Mt Glory packing; Nitin win

Kathmandu, June 30:

Depot High School, Nitin Memorial, Wilson Academy and Daffodil School entered the semi-finals of first Xavier International Inter-school National Basketball Tournament, which has been organised by Nepal Basketball Association under the sponsorship of Dabur Glucose D, here today.

In the day’s first quarter-final, Depot School of Sunsari beat Mount Glory 85-69. Depot dominated the field throughout the match. They took a narrow 15-14 lead in the first quarter, and extended the lead to seven points in the second quarter scoring 23 points.

In the third quarter, Depot scored 25 points to Mount Glory’s 17, while Depot scored 22 and Mount Glory netted 21 in the last quarter. Bhupal Rai of Depot top-scored in the match with 30 points and Eline KC netted 19 for Mount Glory.

In the other match, Nitin Memorial outplayed Manakamana School of Kaski 79-48. Jeevan Bhattarai netted 39 for Nitin and Suman Pun scored 20 for Manakamana. Nitin Memorial took a 21-7 lead in the first quarter, but lost the second quarter 17-19.

They dominated the last two quarter scoring 17 and 24, while Manakamana netted 12 and 15. In the third quarter-final, Wilson beat LRI 66-32 riding on Navaraj Dahal’s 24. Jenish Maharjan of LRI netted 11 points. Also advancing to the semi-final were Daffodil, who beat Penwood 49-33.